Home arrow Parliament arrow Advocates for Tibet



Facebook badge

youtube badge

flickr badge

Advocates for Tibet PDF Print E-mail
[6 May 2010] Members of Parliament who are advocates for Tibet

Tibet Society has collated a list of MPs who were re-elected in the May 2010 general election and advocated for Tibet in the previous parliamentary session. This could have been by signing Early Day Motions, being a member of the All Party Parliamentary Group for Tibet (APPGT) or who have shown support for Tibet in other ways, such as being involved in the parliamentary exchange visits organised by Tibet Society.

If your MP has advocated for Tibet and has been re-elected, it would be a great opportunity to congratulate him or her and ask that he or she continues to support Tibet a positive first step would be to join (or re-join) the All Party Parliamentary Group for Tibet, which will be holding an inaugural meeting in June. Further details will be posted once confirmed.

Page Index
All Party Parliamentary Group members from 2009/2010 & other advocates
MPs who raised Tibet in Parliament 2009/2010
EDM signatories

All Party Parliamentary Group members from 2009/2010
Norman Baker (Lewes, Lib Dem) - Vice Chair
Tim Loughton (East Worthing & Shoreham, Conservative) - Treasurer

Peter Bottomley (Worthing West, Conservative)
Crispin Blunt (Reigate, Conservative)
Cheryl Gillan (Chesham & Amersham, Conservative)
James Gray (North Wltshire, Conservative)

Tony Cunningham (Workington, Labour)
Fabian Hamilton (Leeds North East, Labour)
Kate Hoey (
Vauxhall, Labour)
Barbara Keeley (Worsley & Eccles South, Labour)

Sylvia Hermon
(North Down, UUP)

Other advocates
Emily Thornberry (Islington South & Finsbury, Labour)
Mark Pritchard (The Wrekin, Conservative)
Ed Davey (Kingston & Surbiton, Lib Dem)
Martin Horwood (Cheltenham, Lib Dem)
Simon Hughes (Bermondsey & Old Southwark, Lib Dem)
back to index

MPs who raised Tibet in Parliament 2009/2010

Parliamentary Questions raised in Parliament
Norman Baker (Lewes, Lib Dem)
Lindsay Roy (Glenrothes, Labour)

EDMs tabled by
Kate Hoey (Vauxhall, Labour)
EDM 345: Human Rights in Tibet and China on 3rd December 2009

Norman Baker (Lewes, Lib Dem)
EDM 713: Seventh Anniversary of Death Sentence for Tenzin Delek on 26th January 2010.
back to index

EDM 345/713 Signatories of re-elected MPs
*= MPs who signed both EDMs
| Conservative | Labour | Lib Dem | Other |

Bottomley, Peter (Worthing West) *
Brady, Graham (Altrincham & Sale West)
Hands, Greg (Chelsea & Fulham)
Syms, Robert (Poole)

Abbott, Diane (Hackney North and Stoke Newington)
Begg, Anne (Aberdeen South)
Campbell, Ronnie (Blyth Valley)
Caton, Martin (Gower) *
Clark, Katy (North Ayshire & Arran)
Connarty, Michael (Linlithgow & East Falkirk)
Corbyn, Jeremy (Islington North) *
Cunningham, Jim (Coventry South)
Dobson, Frank (Holborn & St. Pancras)
Dowd, Jim (Lewisham West & Penge)
Efford, Clive (Eltham)
Flello, Robert (Stoke-on-Trent South)
Flynn, Paul (Newport West)
Hamilton, David (Midlothian)
Hamilton, Fabian (Leeds North East)
Havard, Dai (Merthyr Tydfil & Rhymney)
Howarth, George (Knowsley)
Hoyle, Lindsay (Chorley) *
Illsley, Eric (Barnsley Central) *
Jackson, Glenda (Hampstead & Kilburn) *
McDonnell, John (Hayes & Harlington) *
Pugh, John (Southport)
Singh, Marsha (Bradford West)

Liberal Democrat
Baker, Norman (Lewes) *
Brake, Tom (Carshalton & Wallington)
Brooke, Annette (Mid Dorset & North Poole) *
Burstow, Paul (Sutton & Cheam)
Burt, Lorely (Solihull)
Campbell, Menzies (North East Fife) *
Carmichael, Alistair (Orkney & Shetland)
Farron, Timothy (Westmorland & Lonsdale)
Featherstone, Lynne (Hornsey & Wood Green)
Foster, Don (Bath, Lid Dem)
George, Andrew (St Ives) *
Hancock, Mike (Portsmouth South) *
Harvey, Nick (North Devon)
Hemming, John (Birmingham, Yardley) *
Horwood, Martin (Cheltenham)
Huhne, Chris (Eastleigh)
Hunter, Mark (Cheadle) *
Leech, John (Manchester, Withington) *
Moore, Michael (Berwickshire, Roxburgh and Selkirk)
Mulholland, Greg (Leeds North West)
Russell, Bob (Colchester) *
Stunell, Andrew (Hazel Grove)
Swinson, Jo (East Dunbartonshire)
Williams, Stephen (Bristol West) *
Willott, Jenny (Cardiff Central)

Campbell, Gregory (East Londonderry, DUP)
Dodds, Nigel (Belfast North, DUP)
Durkan, Mark (Foyle, SDLP)
Hermon, Sylvia (North Down, UUP)
Llwyd, Elfyn (Dwyfor Meirionnydd, Plaid Cymru)
MacNeil, Angus (Na h-Eileanan an Iar, SNP)
McCrea, Dr William (South Antrim, DUP)
Robertson, Angus (Moray, SNP)
Simpson, David (Upper Bann, DUP)
Weir, Mike (Angus, SNP)
back to index

Image Click here to join
Click here to support

< Prev   Next >

© 2018 Tibet Society
Joomla! is Free Software released under the GNU/GPL License.
Template Design by funky-visions.de