Facebook badge

youtube badge

flickr badge

New UK parliament to start with solid base of support for Tibet PDF Print E-mail
[14 May 2015] Following the UK General Election on 7 May, 45 candidates who pledged support for Tibet have been elected to parliament. This provides a solid base from which to increase parliamentary support for Tibet. Tibet Society will be encouraging all MPs, and especially those who pledged support, to join the All Party Parliamentary Group for Tibet.

VT logoThe initial stage of the Vote Tibet campaign proved a huge success with 10% of all parliamentary candidates standing in the UK election on 7 May pledging support for Tibet. A total of 387 candidates signed the pledge, which stated: I will use my position as an MP to support human rights for Tibetans in Tibet including the freedom to determine their own future.

Of the 387 candidates who pledged support, 45 were elected to parliament.

The 45 successful candidates represent the following parties: 23 Labour, 10 Conservative, 4 SNP, 2 Lib Dem, 2 Plaid Cymru, 1 Green, 1 SDLP, 1 Sinn Fein and 1 Independent.
View list of all 45 candidates who were successfully elected to parliament

The 387 candidates who pledged support stood in 305 constituencies. 49 of the candidates were incumbents. The party breakdown of the candidates was: 173 Green, 70 Lib Dem, 57 Labour (including 2 Labour-Coop), 23 UKIP, 21 Conservative, 12 TUSC (including 2 TUSC-Left Unity), 10 Plaid Cymru, 8 Independent, 5 SNP, 2 Alliance and one each from Animal Welfare, Christian Movement, Left Unity, Republican Socialist, SDLP and Sinn Fein.

View list of all candidates who pledged support for Tibet: by name I party I constituency

Thank you to everyone who participated in the initial phase of Vote Tibet by contacting candidates in their constituency.

Prior to the election, Tibet Society issued a press release, in which Fabian Hamilton, Labour candidate for Leeds North East and chairman of the All Party Parliamentary Group for Tibet during the last parliamentary session, said, "The number of candidates pledging support for Tibet, indicates there is a strong desire to see a government with ethics that will not only challenge China's human rights record but will stand up for the rights and freedoms of the Tibetan people."

The press release was picked up by Radio Free Asia and Voice of Tibet, both of whom broadcast the story in the Tibetan language into Tibet. Dharamsala-based news agency Tibet Post International also ran the story.

Next steps in the Vote Tibet campaign
VT logoThe first phase of the Vote Tibet campaign has provided a solid base of support for Tibet in the UK Parliament. However, this is just the beginning: in the coming weeks Tibet Society will endeavour to build this support further by contacting all MPs and encouraging them to promote Tibetan human rights and pressuring China to peacefully resolve the Tibet situation.

In addition, Tibet Society is contacting all successful candidates who pledged support to congratulate them on their election win and remind them of their commitment. We will remain in contact with them and urge them to advocate for Tibet at appropriate times. They will also be invited, along with all MPs, to join the All Party Parliamentary Group for Tibet (APPGT), of which Tibet Society is the Secretariat.

Tibet Society will also contact all the unsuccessful candidates who pledged support and encourage them to take up the Tibet cause in a personal capacity.

Action steps for Tibet Society members and supporters to take with regards to contacting their MPs will be issued in the coming weeks.

All Party Parliamentary Group for Tibet
HoC logoThe All Party Parliamentary Group for Tibet (APPGT) consists of MPs and Lords who have an interest in, and concern for, the Tibetan cause and Tibetan people. As the Secretariat for the APPGT, Tibet Society provides MPs and Lords with updates on the Tibet issue, organises regular meetings and events, and makes recommendations on actions for parliamentarians to take.

Of the 17 MPs who were either listed as officers or members of the APPGT for the 2014-15 parliamentary session, 13 have been re-elected. Those re-elected were: Bob Blackman (Con), Crispin Blunt (Con), Peter Bottomley (Con), Jeremy Corbyn (Lab), Fabian Hamilton (Lab), Sylvia Hermon (Ind), Kate Hoey (Lab), James Gray (Con), Barbara Keeley (Lab), Tim Loughton (Con), Caroline Lucas (Green), Mark Pritchard (Con) and Emily Thornberry (Lab).

Unfortunately, former APPGT members Martin Horwood, Cathy Jamieson and Tessa Munt lost their seats, whilst Tony Cunningham stood down prior to the election. In addition, both Norman Baker and Simon Hughes, who were members of the APPGT until appointed as ministers in the last government, were not re-elected. Tibet Society would like to thank all those not returning to parliament for their unfailing support and hard work advocating Tibet during their parliamentary tenures.

The 45 candidates who pledged support for Tibet and were successfully elected to parliament were:

Diane Abbott Labour Hackney North & Stoke Newington
Heidi Alexander Labour Lewisham East
Dave Anderson Labour Blaydon
Henry Bellingham Conservative North West Norfolk
Bob Blackman Conservative Harrow East
Crispin Blunt Conservative Reigate
Tom Brake Lib Dem Carshalton & Wallington
Jeremy Corbyn Labour Islington North
Nic Dakin Labour Scunthorpe
Jim Dowd Labour Lewisham West & Penge
Flick Drummond Conservative Portsmouth South
Mark Durkan SDLP Foyle
Nigel Evans Conservative Ribble Valley
Paul Farrelly Labour Newcastle-under-Lyme
Jim Fitzpatrick Labour Poplar & Limehouse
Paul Flynn Labour Newport West
Mike Freer Conservative Finchley & Golders Green
Mary Glindon Labour North Tyneside
Roger Godsiff Labour Birmingham, Hall Green
Zac Goldsmith Conservative Richmond Park
Peter Grant SNP Glenrothes
Fabian Hamilton Labour Leeds North East
Helen Hayes Labour Dulwich & West Norwood
Drew Hendry SNP Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch & Strath
Sylvia Hermon Independent North Down
Kate Hoey Labour Vauxhall
David Lammy Labour Tottenham
Tim Loughton Conservative East Worthing & Shoreham
Caroline Lucas Green Brighton Pavilion
Fiona Mactaggart Labour Slough
Justin Madders Labour Ellesmere Port & Neston
Rachael Maskell Labour-Coop York Central
Paul Maskey Sinn Fein Belfast West
Tania Mathias Conservative Twickenham
John McDonnell Labour Hayes & Harlington
Paul Monaghan SNP Caithness, Sutherland & Easter Ross
Greg Mulholland Lib Dem Leeds North West
Roger Mullin SNP Kirkcaldy & Cowdenbeath
Teresa Pearce Labour Erith & Thamesmead
Steve Pound Labour Ealing North
Liz Saville Roberts Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd
Keir Starmer Labour Holborn & St Pancras
Gareth Thomas Labour Harrow West
Hywel Williams Plaid Cymru Arfon
Mike Wood Conservative Dudley South

View a list of all candidates who pledged support for Tibet: by name I party I constituency

Tibet Society, the worlds first Tibet support group, was founded in 1959. Funded by its members, it has been working for over 50 years to seek justice for Tibet through parliamentary lobbying, campaigns and actions. Help keep Tibet alive by joining Tibet Society today. Annual membership 24; Family 36; Life 500.
ImageJoin Tibet Society I Donate
More details about membership
< Prev   Next >

© 2018 Tibet Society
Joomla! is Free Software released under the GNU/GPL License.
Template Design by